Book Releases & Reviews

Cecily wants a big life, but can she handle it?

In Over Her Head: Lights, Camera, Anxiety

Author Krysten Lindsay Hager releases Book 2 in the Cecily Taylor Series

69619996_320391312087453_4866850214461308928_nBecause I write highly-suspenseful stories set in an imaginary dystopian reality, people sometimes assume that’s the only kind of books I like to read as well. Not true! Since I was a young adult myself, one of my favorite genres has been contemporary fiction — those stories that take me back to my teenage years, reminding me of all the drama, emotions, conflicts and opportunities unique to that stage in life.

Krysten Lyndsay Hager has been writing wonderful YA contemporary novels for years, including Dating the It Guy, and award-winning True Colors. Today, Hager releases Book 2 in her Cecily Taylor series: In Over Her Head: Lights, Camera, Anxiety. Here’s the scoop:

Cecily feels like she has it all: great best friends, the beginnings of a career as a model/actress, and she’s dating her favorite singer, Andrew Holiday. Then Cecily’s best friend Lila begins to ditch her every time Lila’s boyfriend calls. Cecily feels lost, but she and Andrew begin connecting more and she’s never been in a relationship where she felt so understood. Andrew even begins to confide in her about his anxiety. Soon Cecily experiences her own anxiety on a magazine photo shoot, but she manages to impress the magazine staff. Just when it seems like all her dreams are coming true, everything comes crashing down when a photo of Andrew with another girl appears online. He swears nothing happened, but Cecily is crushed. She feels like she’s lost two of the people closest to her.

Was her perfect relationship real or was she in over her head?

If you think this sounds good, but want to start with the first book in the Cecily Taylor series, Can Dreams Comes True?, check it out:

Can Dreams come TrueCecily has always had a huge crush on singer Andrew Holiday and she wants to be an actress, so she tags along when her friend auditions for his new video. However, the director isn’t looking for an actress, but rather the girl next door–and so is Andrew. Cecily gets a part in the video and all of Andrew’s attention on the set. Her friend begins to see red and Cecily’s boyfriend is seeing green–as in major jealousy. A misunderstanding leaves Cecily and her boyfriend on the outs and Andrew hopes to pick up the pieces as he’s looking for someone more stable in his life than the models he’s dated. Soon Cecily begins to realize Andrew understands her more than her small-town boyfriend–but can her perfect love match really be her favorite rock star? 

About the author: Krysten Lindsay Hager writes about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, frenemies, crushes, fame, first loves, and values. She is the author of True Colors, Best Friends…Forever?, Next Door to a Star,  Landry in Like, Competing with the Star, Dating the It Guy, and Can Dreams Come True. Krysten’s work has been featured in USA Today, The Flint Journal, the Grand Haven Tribune, the Beavercreek Current, the Bellbrook Times, Springfield News-Sun, Grand Blanc View, Dayton Daily News and on Living Dayton.  Find out more at You can also find Krysten on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.



pretty divider


If you love STEALING LIBERTY, you might also enjoy THE SIX PACK SERIES by B.W. Morris. What do the two series have in common? They are both clean picks for young adults and dystopian trilogies. Here’s the full scoop on each book in the Six Pack Series:

It all started with a drink – a drink that gave superpowers to Tyler Ward and five of his friends. Now they must figure out how their new powers can change society.
But who can they trust?
Who has their best interests in mind and who has a bigger agenda?
And what cost comes with change?
This young adult, science fiction/dystopian series is published by Clean Reads, publisher of Stealing Liberty.

Available on Amazon, Kindle, and Kindle Unlimited



Just weeks before Tyler Ward is to graduate from secondary school, he learns the truth about Novusordo and how a drink controls the population. After sharing this information with his five friends, they visit a professor’s house, take another drink and gain strange powers. It leads to them learning more about how the government controls people and the discovery of a movement against the government. Calling themselves the Six Pack, Tyler and his friends must learn how their powers can change society. But they first must learn to trust this movement… and even each other.



Available from  Amazon, Kindle, and Kindle Unlimited



Months after the Six Pack has fled City 37N104W, Tyler Ward wonders how much longer the Underground Network can afford to wait to make its next move against the Novusordo government. The disappearance of five more students from Monroe Secondary School pushes his desire to take action. And when he learns that Professor Roger Woods may be in trouble, he is convinced he and the Six Pack must take matters into their own hands, even if it means defying the Network. But actions have consequences, and the decisions Tyler and his friends make will impact everyone they encounter — including themselves.




Coming August 29, 2019




Though the Underground Network has lost a lot, its leaders believe there may be ways to bring down President Douglas Irons and the Novusordo government. Tyler Ward and his friends are more determined than ever to take action and break the control the president has over the citizens.

But more must be answered than how they will accomplish their objectives, even with the superpowers they have. They must ask themselves who they can trust — even within the Network’s ranks. They must ask themselves who might become new allies — even if they work for the government. Most of all, they must ask themselves how much they are willing to sacrifice — even if it means self-sacrifice.